The Basics of Ridesharing
With lots of rideshare apps popping up lately, it’s almost impossible for any motorist not to know about this new mode of transportation. Rideshare apps already have a solid market everywhere, even in North Carolina. However, if you love driving, you might be more interested in the business side of it rather than the convenience it can bring to commuters.
If you like driving and you have a lot of free time on your hands, driving for a rideshare company can be a good way to earn some cash on the side. Being a rideshare driver offers a lot of flexibility, so you can easily moonlight without quitting your day job.
Getting Started in Ridesharing
The best thing about this is it’s quite easy to get started. The requirements are the following:
- A new-ish car. It depends on the specific company you want to work for but most of the time, it shouldn’t be older than five years old.
- A smartphone and mobile data plan. This will let you connect to the app and accept rides nearby.
- You should be at least 21 years old with at least 1 year of driving experience.
- You need a valid driver’s license.
- You should have a clean driving record.
- Your car needs to pass the rideshare company’s inspection.
- You need to go through a background check.
Most applicants easily qualify to become a rideshare driver. The challenge is in getting yourself covered. Because every driver is required to have insurance in North Carolina, you’ll want to look closely into how you can get a good one that will ensure your safety while you hustle.
The Insurance Issue
As a driver, you most likely have a personal vehicle insurance to protect yourself from accidents and to comply with the law. However, this won’t cut it if you want to drive for a rideshare app. You are not covered if you use your vehicle for commercial purposes, so if anything goes wrong, you’ll face out of pocket expenses.
Luckily, rideshare apps have their own vehicle insurance. However, they’re quite limited. This kind of insurance will only cover periods after you’ve accepted a ride booking, picked up the passenger, and delivered the passenger to their destination. As your personal vehicle insurance won’t cover you anymore if you’re using the vehicle as a commercial tool, you’ll be left uninsured during the period wherein you’re logged on to an app and waiting for a booking.
Commercial Vehicle Insurance for Rideshare Drivers in NC
To solve this issue, some states have already created Rideshare Insurance to provide a comprehensive policy for rideshare drivers. Unfortunately, it doesn’t exist in North Carolina just yet.
The best way to get covered is to get a commercial vehicle insurance in North Carolina. It can be quite pricey but since it’s the law and it can protect you from spending your own money should you get into an accident on the road.